27 comments on “Corporate Zombies and Seasonal Craftiness

  1. Wow. I can’t crochet or embroider (even with two good hands!), but it’s something I’ve always thought about learning… maybe when my winter comes along. It does seem to be a cool-weather thing to do. May your craftiness be both enjoyable and productive!

  2. These are beautiful! I can’t do any of this with both hands either. It’s heartening to see how you’ve defied the medics (my father suffered a stroke years ago and also slowly defied those medic folks). I’m looking forward to any posts you feel like sharing of your work! (My hands get busy with simple jewelry making this time of year – it’s hard to resist :)).

    • Good for your Dad! It brightens my heart to hear of fellow survivors who have fought back, despite the sometimes bleak picture painted by medics.

      Ooh, jewellery making! That’s something I dabbled a bit in too and you’ve made me think that maybe next winter I’ll dabble again – now that really would require some fine movements!

  3. That looks like our village.
    You don’t live next door by any chance, do you?
    Joke. I am the most unsociable person in our village, and don’t even know who live in the cottages around us. Could well be you :-)

  4. I’m not a crafty person, but I AM an admirer of those that are! I <3 corporate zombie! And by the way, your crochet is beautiful!

    • Thank you!
      The Corporate Zombie has to be the first to try out because it made us smile…then maybe Medusa, the Amazonian, or the Queen Vampire. It’s a great little book and obviously calls to the child in me! :)

  5. Funny what winter does to us. Good for you for trying and mastering nimble finger crafts! I have a friend that has knitted some really fun scarves for herself, and a couple for me, so tomorrow when I go to town I’m going to see if I can find some fun yarn (our town does not have a lot of that kind of thing either) and knitting needles. Well, after I check to make sure I really did give all my knitting needles away. Used to knit and crochet a lot – made sweaters for everyone I knew one year, made myself a fisherman cable stitch dress one year. Now all I want is easy, like a scarf.

  6. I don’t have a crafty bone in my body but I like your cross-stitch. My wife does it, too and it has always looked relaxing. Not as relaxing as photography, though!

    • Thank you. Yes, I find photography relaxing too. I know I can spend hours, happily lost in the subject. Doing this craft work is just a nice alternative distraction right now, especially whilst everything is whited out with snow outside!

  7. Hope you get on the mend quickly Jayne. My mom loves to crochet and everyone has blankets to prove it. She says it is relaxing and therapeutic. Loved your blanket!

    • Thank you Rudri.
      How fantastic to have blankets made by Mum. Gifts made with love and over many hours are so special. I absolutely agree with your Mum too – crochet has a gentle rhythm to it that is very relaxing.

  8. Wow! those granny squares are just perfect. If you try a character please let me know how it works out and if it would be easy for a certain beginner across the pond :D

    • Thanks Carma. I *hope* the Corprate Zombie is do-able for me. I feel I’m little more than a beginner at crochet too – in fact I’m very impressed at your hat making abilities! (I *just* managed a couple of babies’ cardigans for the girls when they were little but somehow doubt that I could repeat this now).
      The difficulty level on this Zombie pattern says ‘intermediate’ so I’ll soon know if I’m at the intermediate skill level or not! I’ll let you know how it goes. :)

  9. Your work is just beautiful, and I am in awe of anyone that can crochet, because I have been unsuccessful in trying to teach myself on and off over the years. Your determination is inspiring, and I am so glad you shared this today at The Creative Exchange. Thank you!

    Have a wonderful day.

    Lisa.

  10. You are full of talent….and determination! I love all of these, but especially that embroidery! Gorgeous! Hope you are feeling better soon.

  11. I had the exact same crud a month or so ago. Knocked me on my butt for a good week and then hung around for another 2 weeks. I’ve never spent time doing any needle crafts, and envy those who can. I was more *crafty* when the kids were younger. Now I just work! :-(

Leave a Reply

